IIT Bombay 60th Convocation 2022: 449 PhD degrees awarded this year; highest ever

  • 0 reactions
  • 2 years ago

On Saturday, the campus of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay hosted the event for its 60th convocation. This is the first physical convocation ceremony since IIT Bombay hosted its convocation in virtual reality during the previous two years.

Chief guest and Aditya Birla Group Chairman Kumar Mangalam Birla gave the convocation address. Director of IIT Bombay Subhasis Chaudhuri said that 2,585 students will receive a total of 2,835 degrees this academic year. This year, 449 PhDs have been granted in total. A significant milestone for STEM education in India, according to the institute, has been reached by no Indian academic institution producing more than 400 PhD graduates in a calendar year.

Four students received gold medals this year for their outstanding work. Mohammad Ali Rehan, a (BTech) student in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, received the “President of India Medal.” Koustav Jana, a dual-degree student in electrical engineering, received the “Institute Gold Medal (2020-21),” while Aryaman Maithani, a BS student in mathematics, received the “Institute Gold Medal (2021-22),” and Shreya Pathak, a BTech student in computer science and engineering, received the “Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal.” Many more pupils also received gold medals that were funded by donors.

The degrees include 206 PhD, 34 (MTech/ MPhil+PhD), 24 (MSc+PhD), 3 MS (by research), 700 MTech, 53 MDes, 14 Dual Degree (BDes+MDes), 23 MPhil, 115 MBA, 1 EMBA, 17 MPP, 204 two-year MSc, 326 Dual Degree (BTech+MTech), 654 BTech Degrees, 50 Interdisciplinary Dual Degrees (BTech/ BS+MTech

IIT Bombay and Monash University awarded 25 combined PhDs this year. The jointly awarded degrees were presented in person by Margaret Gardner, the president and vice-chancellor of Monash University. The “Naik and Rastogi Award for Excellence in PhD Thesis” for the years 2020–22 has also been given to 35 research scholars this year. Sharad Saraf, the chair of the IIT Bombay Board of Governors (BoG), presided over the convocation while Institute Director Subhasis Chaudhuri was also present. Saraf is the first IIT Bombay alumnus to hold the position of Chairperson of the Institute’s Board of Governors.

Mayank Tewari


Copyright © 2024 Examgyani Technologies Private Limited. All rights reserved.