Describe the three parallel ranges of the Himalayas.

Related Questions

You must login to add an answer.

1 Answer

  1. The Northern Plain is mainly divided into three sections.

    • The Western part of the Northern Plain is referred to as the Punjab Plains. It is formed by the Indus and its tributaries, the larger part of this plain lies in Pakistan.
    • The Indus and its tributaries are the Jhelum, the Chenab, the Ravi, the Beas and the Satluj all originate in the Himalaya.
    • The Ganga plain broadly extends between Ghaggar and Teesta rivers.
    • The plain spreads over the northern states of Haryana, Delhi, U.P., Bihar and partly Jharkhand.
    • The Ganga plains also extend towards Bengal towards the eastern region.
    • Further towards the east, in Assam lies the Brahmaputra plain.
    • The northern plains are called as flatlands with no variations in its relief. However, this is not completely true. These vast plains also have diverse relief features.